The Incredible Hulk: Not Incredible but Entertaining

No, the bar certainly wasn’t set very high on this one considering the last Hulk movie that many of us may remember. It was so terrible, un-action filled, lame and stupid that I considered shaving my scrotum with a rusty fork just to experience something that was less agonizing. But this Hulk movie did a nice job keeping me entertained for nearly two hours.

Edward Norton I always love. I have long since forgiven him for The Italian Job, especially considering how much I respected his attempt to bribe the studio not to release it. In pretty much all other cases, though, he’s excellent. Liv Tyler I have mixed feelings about, partially due to my hatred of Armageddon – no, not the event, that I can’t wait for…the terrible movie with Bruce Willis – and her usual inability to be loud or emotive in any but an overly-dramatic teary sort of way. I call that the Opposite of Al Pacino Syndrom. He can’t stop yelling and she can’t start. However, much to my pleasure and surprise, she yelled for like 6 seconds in The Incredible Hulk. It wasn’t her finest acting moment – clearly she’s found her niche with the quivering upper lip and whispery stuff – but it was something, so thanks.

The action was good and the super hero-ness of the story was decent too. I happen to love super hero stuff, though the movies rarely live up to my expectations. The Spidermans were not so great (second was best), I felt, and others fall short too (Fantastic Four – both). But I love learning how a super hero came to be. That’s very entertaining I think. This wasn’t the most detailed of explanations which is probably better for most people but they tossed me some bones. Though most people I think will have enjoyed Iron Man more, I was about as equally entertained by both.

Also amusing were all of the cameos. Stan Lee, of course, but also the guys who played the Hulk in the TV series – Bruce Banner (Bill Bixby – since he’s dead, this tribute was via a TV clip of Bixby in one of his other series, The Courtship of Eddie’s Father) and the green Hulk (Lou Ferrigno). Oh, and Stanley’s Pizza Parlor was a nice touch (“Stan Lee”).

I’m going to give it a rating of 6 Chocolate Salty Balls (this is out of ten, by the way).

Have you seen it? Did you like it? Wanna get your own copy? Do it here: Incredible Hulk.

Get a FREE Bonus Chapter from The Zen of South Park.

Read more movie reviews.

Leave a Reply

