Nolan’s New Batman Film, Dark Knight, Pre-Selling Out

I’m really excited to share this fact with you: Dark Knight, the most highly anticipated Batman film of all time, is selling out like crazy three weeks before the movie opens. I for one, share the absolute excitement of the movie-going public about this film. The cast, from Christian Bale to Michael Caine to, of course, Heath Ledger, looks simply phenomenal, and I can’t wait to see every single one of the them – except Maggie Gyllenhaal (though I hope she impresses me).

For the record, I hate actor switches that aren’t accompanied by some kind of acknowledgement of the fact, like in The Fresh Prince of Bel Air when suddenly Aunt Viv was a totally new person from one season to the next. What’s that about? At least when the daughter on Rosanne was switched out and came back Rosanne says to her, “Where the hell have you been?” I love internal jokes referencing something that we all noticed anyway. Somehow I doubt we’re going to get the same for Katie Holmes to Maggie Gyllenhaal. I used to have a huge crush on Katie Holmes during Dawson’s Creek but I don’t know what happened to her recently. She got weird and distant and sucky. Hmm…

So Dark Knight is selling out like crazy and it looks spectacular. I honestly feel like I can’t wait and like I’m going to wet myself (but that’s more of a day to day problem than Dark Knight related). I love Batman – the only non-superpower superhero – and the reason I loved Batman Begins is because it explained how an ordinary man came to have extraordinary abilities that were not supernatural. Plus, it was bad-ass. This Batman series is sensational (and it’s not even officially a series yet), especially when compared to the first four, which were all only worth watching because of the villains (Jack Nicholson, Danny DeVito, Tommy Lee Jones and Jim Carrey).

Do you have advance tickets? Are you excited? What are you looking forward to most about it? Do you think it will live up to all the hype?

Get a FREE Bonus Chapter from The Zen of South Park.

Read more movie reviews.

2 Responses

  1. i’m very excited to watch it! totally looking forward to heath ledger’s joker. its going to definitely kick ass!!!

  2. Thanks hermosaleekwan! I agree – heath ledger’s joker looks incredible. Honestly, he looks terrifying and darker than Batman could or should ever be, which I think is precisely the awesomeness of Batman. It’s so dark you wish you had a match.

Leave a Reply

