Topical Tuesday: The Importance of Loving Your Computer

I love my computer. It’s a Macbook that I purchased in February of this year. And I love it. It’s black, sleek, happy and most of all, wonderful to me.

Before my Macbook I had a Toshiba. The reason I had this Toshiba is because in a pinch, it was the easiest thing to get me after my Jerusalem apartment was robbed and my laptop (a Dell that I had had for two and a half years) stolen. Though it had caused me numerous problems I liked my Dell. It pissed me off enough, though, that I had resolved to get a Mac as my next computer.

Unfortunately, when I had to have something as quick as possible and my mom had to get it to me from overseas, I did not get to look at and shop for Macs but just had to take the quick fix. That quick fix was perhaps the worst computer I’ve ever used. Toshiba hasn’t always made bad products but recently they’ve been buying parts on the cheap, and the quality of their computers has suffered dramatically. This was such a computer. It was horrible, shutting down all the time, never working for long, and generally screwing up at every turn. Plus, it had Vista which totally sucks.

When I arrived in the States three months later I resolved to purchase a Mac and forever stay away from the horrors of PC. I did and I’ve never been happier. I feel like I divorced this ugly, stupid girl and started making love to the hottest and most brilliant chick in the world. The transition to a Mac from PC was relatively painless and I’ve never looked back. There’s no problem creating Word files; there’s no blue screen of death. I can run as many programs as I like at once (and I do). It is an intuitive experience and there are all sorts of excellent ways for me to enjoy myself with my computer by personalizing it more thoroughly.

And why is this all important? Because as someone who spends 12 hours a day in front of the computer, working and typing and writing and trying to be creative, I need to have an excellenet relationship with this machine. It is essential to my productivity, comfort and peace of mind. I didn’t used to love my work station but ever since I got this Mac I’ve enjoyed every minute of it.

What kind of computer do you use? Do you love it? Why or why not?

Don’t forget to check out Chandler’s blog for more on this topic, or for another Topical Tuesday article click HERE.

2 Responses

  1. […] For Jay’s Take on Topical Tuesday head over Here.  […]

  2. I,too, had a pc. It nearly dorve me insane and when, it finally gave a staggering sigh and died, I too, got a black macbook and instantly fell in love with it.
    I feel your pain, though my hp did last me three years.

    let me know how stuff is getting on,
    Eric

Leave a Reply

