Will Ferrell and John C. Reilly’s Step Brothers Proves Surprisingly Funny and Filled with One-Liners

I must admit that I didn’t go into this movie with a very good attitude. Not being in a humorous mood and not in the mood to see what I thought was going to be a two and a half hour flick will do that to a guy.

Why’d I think it would be so long? The dashboard widget on my Mac where I get my movie theater show time information said that it was 2 hours and 46 minutes. I think there was a typo, but I definitely went in thinking that this was going to be quite a commitment and not knowing how many classically pointless (though admittedly funny) Ferrell scenes I would be able to handle. Hence my confusion when the movie started winding down after about an hour and fifteen minutes. I thought, “Are they going to bring this movie all the way back up into another plot?”

In typical Ferrell fashion the movie was consistently funny with well-constructed scenes and characters to complement John C. Reilly and Ferrell’s ridiculousness. Particularly good with surprisingly amusing lines was Ferrell’s mother, played by Academy-Award winning actress Mary Steenburgen, and the rest of the cast was on point too – especially the woman who played Ferrell’s sister-in-law (Kathryn Hahn), who does an amazing scene in the bathroom with Rielly.

Honestly, at the end I thought things were going a little soft humor-wise and a little too down to earth; I imagine the cast and writers felt something a little similar because it really got quite silly in the final scenes to bring the tone back up. These aren’t complaints, of course, just a reminder that you are watching another of Ferrell’s good films, but that you’re not seeing an Anchorman.

Yes, it pains me to bring this up – a comparison to Anchorman – but isn’t that always what’s on everyone’s mind when he or she walks into any Ferrell film. Is this the next Anchorman? Don’t get me wrong. It was good – 7 Chocolate Salty Balls Good – but it was not the long awaited for equal of one of the funniest movies to ever grace God’s Green Hollywood (sometimes known as God’s Smog-filled Hellhole of Shame). So if you like Ferrell and his footloose comedy stylings, then go and enjoy this movie, but don’t get your hopes up too high and like me you’ll laugh and smile pretty consistently throughout the whole thing.

Have you seen it? What did you think? How does it compare? Get your copy of Step Brothers before it’s too late! Too late for what? Of that, I’m not sure, but hey – get a copy anyway.

Get a FREE Bonus Chapter from The Zen of South Park.

Read more movie reviews.

2 Responses

  1. I saw it and lost the will to live momentarily. Just an awful piece of work. I ought to sue the entertainment industry for destroying my valuble neurons w/ such absurd crap.

  2. Wow Doogie Howser! That’s quite a harsh opinion – hope you weren’t seeing it on the recommendation of my 7 chocolate salty balls. Sorry you didn’t like it. Do you generally dislike Will Ferrell or was it just this movie?

Leave a Reply

