Chicken Sex Leads to Literacy in South Park Episode 203, “Chickenlover”

This episode is hysterical and a highlight among an excellent second season. No one forgets Cartman’s claim to “authori-TI” and the lessons about reading and what the boys pick up to read are great. Plus, who doesn’t love making fun of idiot cops. And then there’s the sex with chickens. I couldn’t ask for much more.

I would like to point out something cool I noticed long ago. When in the classroom, if you look at the alphabet above Mr. Garrison’s head and the chalkboard, it says, “DiOsMiOhAnMaTaDoHaKeNnYbAsTaRdOsF . . .” That’s right: “Dios mio,” or “My gods” and “Kenny Bastard.” Fun, right?

Also, a word about the Ayn Rand, Atlas Shrugged, knock at the end. Reading sucks, we learn, because of this book. Now, don’t get me wrong, I totally see the flaws in the philosophy behind the book, objectivism. It’s heartless, entirely lacking in social conscience and nearly impractical. However, the book was very interesting and engaging, especially considering its length. Normally, I agree pretty wholeheartedly with Stone’s and Parker’s opinions and evaluations, but this time, I’m going to have to disagree with them.

What did you think of the episode? What do you think of Ayn Rand? Atlas Shrugged? Objectivism?

Get a FREE Bonus Chapter from The Zen of South Park.

Read about other South Park episodes.

2 Responses

  1. “DiOsMiOhAnMaTaDoHaKeNnYbAsTaRdOs”
    you are missing some of it.
    Dios mio: oh my god
    han matado a kenny: they’ve killed kenny
    bastardod = bastards.

    so its not: oh my god, kenny bastard… but oh my god, they’ve killed kenny. bastards. Just like in the series.

  2. Oh, that’s awesome – thanks so much for sharing the rest with us. I really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

