Zen Talk: Actions Speak Louder Than Words, Don’t Ya Know

“Like a beautiful flower that is colorful but has no fragrance, even well-spoken words bear no fruit in one who does not put them into practice.”

These beautiful words of the Buddha echo the truism with which most of us are familiar: actions speak louder than words. Do you think that’s true?

I often find myself defending principles that I hold dear, only to realize that if I don’t show people exactly what I mean by my actions, then the words gushing forth from my mouth were worthless.

This quote reminds me of the difference between saying that you love someone and showing that person that he or she is loved. It’s easy to let the words cross your lips, especially to insist that they true – yet it is far more difficult to show day in and day out that everything you do you do for that person because of your love. The fragrance must be there – not just pretty colors.

As an aside, this flower quote was particularly fitting since I went to the botanical gardens and the flower conservatory twice this week. Beautiful places.

What do you think of this Buddha quote? Can you share a time that you knew  your words were worthless if not supported by actions?

Get a FREE Bonus Chapter from The Zen of South Park.

Enjoy more Zen Talk.

Leave a Reply

