Sean William Scott and Paul Rudd are Awesome in the Consistently Hilarious Role Models

Maybe I’m just really imature and like boob jokes and cursing (well, not maybe – for sure), but I thought that Role Models was awesome. I laughed from the first scene to the last. The jokes were gratuitous, unnecessary, vulgar and sure to offend. In short, they were my favorite kinds of jokes.

Both kids were excellent. The adults were too. Jane Lynch, who played Gale Sweeney and whom you may remember as the electronic store manager from The 40 Year Old Virgin was over the top but really entertaining. No one in this movie was cast poorly from the parents to the extras.

One could argue that this movie had little of value to offer, but I disagree. For the two main characters, it was a tale of growing up and coming to appreciate that there’s more to life than just themselves. For two kids, it was a story of getting noticed, appreciated and loved. People grew up, people learned, and people loved. What I’m trying to say is that many of the characters were dynamic and the story went some were.

What’s more awesome is that the story went there fast. This movie was an hour and a half. You may have caught from my rant in my review of Body of Lies that long movies piss me off. This movie didn’t have any extra material. It went from start to finish with laughs and humor and good times, and unlike this rambling review, it didn’t muck about and make me wonder why I was sitting there, watching a scene for ten minutes before a half-hearted punch-line laugh brought it to a close.

Basically, if you love sick and vulgar, funny and entertaining, then this movie is for you. I give it 8 Chocolate Salty Balls.

Get a FREE Bonus Chapter from The Zen of South Park.

Read more movie reviews.

Get your own copy of Role Models today!

Leave a Reply

