Fun with the Bible: Adam and Eve’s Crotch-Covering Leaves

jay-with-adam-leaf

This is me in Kuala Lumpur holding a giant leaf that I found, and which made me think of Adam in the Garden of Eden. After the serpent tricks Adam and Eve, we can read in Genesis 3:7, “Then the eyes of both were opened, and they knew that they were naked; and they sewed fig leaves together and made loincloths for themselves.”

Now, this is no fig leaf and it certainly couldn’t get turned into a loincloth, but I couldn’t help but think that if they’d had such leaves it would have been a lot easier for them to diaper-wrap these than anything else. After all, where did they learn to sow and with what implements were they sowing anyways?

Have you been to Kuala Lumpur? What do you think of this verse in the Bible?

Get a FREE Bonus Chapter from The Zen of South Park.

Enjoy some Fun with the Bible posts.

3 Responses

  1. As luck would have it, this is a city I’ve been to, and on a number of occasions, the first time being for my honeymoon back in 2003. In fact, I’ve been there so often that the last time I was there, for a business trip, I felt completely comfortable getting around the city. 🙂

  2. I’m afraid I haven’t been to Kuala Lumpur, but I am familiar with the Bible verses. I don’t doubt the verses for a moment – while it does say they sewed fig leaves together, it also says it was to make ‘aprons’, so I’m not too sure about the ‘loincloth’ suggestion. Also, they were created with the best knowledge of their environment and intelligence that man has ever had (if we look around us, everything only continues to deteriorate), so sewing wouldn’t have been a problem (metal needles might have) – they had many resources available to them in that garden … probably your giant leaves too! But what they lacked was experience, manpower and modern technology – personally – I think they were better off than we are (before they needed the leaves, that is!)

  3. Yes, I’ve lived and worked in Kuala Lumpur for three and a half years. Wonderful, wonderful city and a time I look back to with great fondness!
    I was wondering about what implements Adam and Eve may have used when a google search led me to your site. I suspect they may have used a thinnish vine for “thread” which they might have threaded with their bare hands through holes made in the leaves with a fingernail or a thorn perhaps. I don’t think what they “fashioned” would have qualified as elaborate craftsmanship!

Leave a Reply

